Venmo, a payment service owned by Paypal that allows users to send and receive money from others, has been creating much buzz lately. The mobile payment service has been adding new features and integrations at a rapid pace. Despite all the positive press, some people are still unhappy with the service, especially if their accounts have been frozen. If you’re in this situation and figure you no longer need to use Venmo, there’s only one solution: delete your account.
Unfortunately, it’s not simple, but we will be with you throughout the process. But first, why is your Venmo account frozen?
Why is My Venmo Frozen?
Your Venmo account may be frozen primarily because of a failed payment. Another reason is that the user may have done suspicious activities against their user agreement, not complying with their rules and regulations or the credit card’s policies.
Can I Delete or Cancel My Frozen Venmo Account Directly?
The answer is no. Sadly, you can’t delete or cancel a frozen Venmo account. What you can do is unfreeze your account and then delete it.
The quickest and most direct way to unfreeze your account is to contact the Venmo support team via email. You’ll receive an email with the information that your account has been frozen and ask them to reactivate it. You can also send them a message on their page.
You will receive instructions from their team, and once you finish it, your account will be unfrozen and ready to be deleted.
How to Close or Delete a Frozen Venmo Account & Get your Money Out
Once you’ve settled your failed payment or Venmo was able to unfreeze your account, you can now close or delete your mobile payment account. You can safely discontinue your account and recover or get your money out. Here’s how to do it.
- First, log into your account on the Venmo website.
- Tap your pictures or initials to go to your profile.
- On your profile page, tap the “settings” gear in the top-right corner.
- Under “Preferences”, tap “Account”. Then tap “Close Venmo Account.”
- You’ll have to confirm that you want to close your account. Once you confirm, your account will be successfully closed or deleted.
What Actually Happens When you Delete a Frozen Venmo Account?
Before you delete your Venmo account, you should know a few things will happen.
First, all your transactions will be erased, including any payments made, charges made to you or the link to your bank accounts or credit cards.
Second, deleting your account doesn’t mean it will transfer funds to your bank or return them to their sender. You will have to settle any pending transactions or never see the money again without reaching out to their customer service. Don’t worry, though; even when you close your account, you’ll still receive a final notification email.
Finally, remember that your personal information will be deleted from Venmo’s servers, including your username, which will become accessible for someone else to claim.
In this article, we’ve shown you that you can’t directly delete a frozen Venmo account. You will have to settle your failed payment or ask their team for assistance to unfreeze your account. Once this process is completed, you can now delete your Venmo account. Just keep in mind that all of your transactions will be erased, and you won’t be able to reopen your account once it’s deleted.
Have you tried the steps above? Let us know in the comments below.